You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Slow start to polling in Uttar Pradesh

Press Trust of India  |  Lucknow 

Voting was yet to pick up in the first two hours of polling Sunday in 14 constituencies of eastern UP where Yadav and are among key contestants.

The average poll percentage was 9.28 per cent, a said.

While Basti parliamentary constituency recorded the highest turnout of 11.40 per cent, enthusiasm among voters was the least in Domariyaganj, where 7.60 per cent of eligible voters cast their ballots till 9 am.

Altogether, 177 candidates are contesting in these 14 constituencies, where 2.53 crore people are eligible to vote at 16,998 polling centres.

Polling was underway in Sultanpur, Pratapgarh, Phulpur, Allahabad, Ambedkararnagar, Shrawasti, Domariyaganj, Basti, Sant Kabirnagar, Lalganj, Jaunpur, Machchlishahr, Bhadohi and Azamgarh constituencies in Purvanchal region of the state.

The had won 13 of these 14 constituencies in the 2014 election. The only exception was Azamgarh, won then by SP founder

However, the BJP had to bite the dust in the bypolls in Phulpur and Gorakhpur constituencies last year.

While the anti-BJP alliance would like to retain its grip over both the seats, the saffron party is looking to take a sweet revenge from the opposition in this round.

In Azamgarh, Yadav is trying to retain his father's seat against Bhojpuri film star Yadav 'Nirahua' of the

The SP president's decision to contest from his father's bastion is being touted as a move to consolidate the Yadav, Dalit and Muslim voters in the Purvanchal region of

Sultanpur too is seeing an interesting contest as the BJP has fielded for the seat won by her son in 2014.

The seats appears tricky for as BJP strategists are relying on a division of and gathbandhan votes, besides possible counter-polarisation of non-Yadav and non-Jatav Dalit and OBC votes.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Sun, May 12 2019. 09:55 IST