You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Stage set for Senior National Basketball tourney in Chennai

Press Trust of India  |  Chennai 

Defending champions (men) and (women) head the field for the 68th Senior National Basketball Championship, which begins at the Indoor Stadium here on January 17.

The tournament, hosted by the Basketball Association under the aegis of Basketball Federation of India, will see teams from almost all states/union territories participate, TNBA V V R told reporters here.

He said the teams had prepared well for the championship and expected them to perform well.

The teams have been training under Serbian Milan Opacic, and Aleksandar Virjevic, the

Speaking on the occasion, Opacic said the men and women teams had put in a lot of hard work in the run-up to the tournament, adding that should stand them in good stead.

"We have had good training sessions and the players are ready for the tournament," he added.

TNBA said the association planned to take the game to the grass-roots and open academies.

He also said TNBA would be instituting the Basketball Hall of Fame. The first inductees will be T Vijayaraghavan and Amarnath, former international players and 'Jumpball' Padmanabhan and L Ramakrishnan in the contributors category.

The Tamil Nadu men's and women's teams were announced on the occasion.

Members of the state men's teams said they had been working hard under Opacic and expected to better the runner-up finish they achieved in last year's edition in Puducherry.

The Tamil Nadu teams: Men: (captain), Justin, Hariram, Prasanna Venkatesh, Bala, Mukund Chari, Muin Bek, Harissh, Sivabalan, Ragul, Aravind, Jeeva, Koushick, Rikin, Pratham Singh, Ragu Ram.

Women: Alagu Tamil Mozhi, Srividya V, Pushpa, Sathya, Nishanthi, Mohana Bala, Shinu, Avanthi, Vandhana, Gayathri, Sheryanka, Deepika.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Sat, January 13 2018. 18:35 IST