You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

T'gana polls: Over 23 pc voter turnout recorded in first four hours

Press Trust of India  |  Hyderabad 

Over 23 per cent of 2.80 crore voters of exercised their franchise during the first four hours of polling on Friday.

elections are being held for the first time in after its formation. The 2014 Assembly polls were held in undivided

"Polling till 11 AM was reported at 23.4 per cent..a clear trend would emerge by 3 PM," told reporters.

Voting commenced at sharp 7 AM, though at some polling stations there was a delay of about 10-15 minutes, he noted.

In one or two cases, the EVMs had to be replaced, he said.

"It (polling) is going on very satisfactorily..I want to thank voters," he added.

Responding to a query on the alleged attack on Kalwakurthy candidate Vamshi Chand Reddy, Kumar said the is inquiring into the matter.

Earlier, Telangana had alleged that Vamshi was attacked by BJP cadres during his visit to in his constituency to observe the poll pattern.

Polling is underway in the 119 assembly constituencies in the state amid elaborate arrangements.

Voting will conclude at 5 PM, except in 13 constituencies classified as Left Wing Extremist-affected where the process ends at 4 PM.

The had said those in queues at polling stations before 5 PM would be allowed to vote.

Telangana and ESL Narasimhan and his wife Vimala Narasimhan, caretaker Chief K T and his deputy Kadiyam Srihari, state Harish Rao, BJP Telangana chief K Laxman, Bandaru Dattatreya, Asaduddin Owaisi, Kodandaram are among the leaders who cast their votes.

After casting his vote, said he expected the overall poll percentage to go up.

Minister and actors Nagarjuna, Allu Arjun, Nithin, Krishna cast their votes in in the city.

Meanwhile, Telangana DGP M Mahendar Reddy said polling process had been peaceful across the state.

Elaborate and necessary arrangements have been made for law and order, public safety and queue management, he said.

Over one lakh personnel from Telangana, central paramilitary forces and those drawn from different states have been deployed as part of security and other arrangements.

The has stitched together an allaince, "Prajakutami" (People's Front), along with the Telugu Desam Party (TDP), the Telangana Jana Samiti (TJS) and the (CPI) to take on the ruling Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS), led by K Chandrasekhar Rao.

The TRS, seeking a second term in office, is going alone, as also the BJP.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Fri, December 07 2018. 13:06 IST