You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Uttarakhand ride Dhapola six-for, Nagaland struggle despite Rahman hat-trick

Press Trust of India  |  Dehradun 

Pacer ran through the lower-order to bag a six-wicket haul as group leaders fought back in their Ranji Trophy Plate fixture here Friday.

In the top-of-the-table clash, resumed the day at 294 for five but Dhapola (6/52) was at his menacing best, bundling out their rivals for addition of just 17 runs.

This was Dhapola's fourth five-wicket haul in as many matches and the 28-year-old now has 32 wickets from four games.

At close on day two, were 175/4, trailing by 136 runs with opener Vineet Saxena (62 batting) and (54 batting) in the crease following an 83-run partnership.

In Dimapur, offspinner Tahmeed Rahman claimed a hat-trick on way to a 5/108, but they found themselves on the mat, trailing by 60 runs with six wickets in hand in the second innings.

It was debutant who stole the show, converting his overnight 109 to 228 by doing the bulk of the scoring and taking to 336.

Rahman claimed Samson Singh, and off consecutive deliveries in the 77th over to have at 273/8. But Raghav found able company in number ten batsman Thokchom Singh, added 62 runs and completed a double century.

Thokchom scored only eight runs before becoming Rahman's fifth victim.

In reply, were 150/4 in their second innings with KB Pawan (47) and Arbar Kazi (24) seeing through the day.

In Patna, (overnight on 127) smashed 222 while (overnight 72) missed out on a century by two runs as piled misery on to declare their first innings for 536/5.

Arunachal Pradesh, who were skittled out for 84 on day one, finished day two at 98/1, still trailing by 354 runs.

Brief scores:

In Dehradun: Meghalaya 311; 95.5 overs (Puneet Bisht 154, Yogesh Nagar 91; 6/52, 2/73, Dhanraj Sharma 2/81). 175/4; 73 overs (Vineet Saxena 62 batting, 54 batting; Dipu Sangma 2/26).

In Dimapur: 126 and 150/4; 42 overs (Rongsen Jonathan 59, KB Pawan 47 batting; Bishworjit Konthoujam 2/29, 2/35). 336; 91.4 overs (228; Tahmeed Rahman 5/108, Pawan Suyal 2/76).

In Patna: 84 and 98/1; 26 overs (Samarth Seth 52 batting). 536/5 declared; 112 overs (222, 98, Utkarsh Bhaskar 57, K Rajnish 45, MD Rahmatullah 42; Myendung Singpho 2/90).

In Wayanad: Puducherry 647/8 declared; 157 overs (253, Fabid Ahmed 99, Saju Chothan 81, Vikneshwaran Marimuthu 78, Damodaren Rohit 59; Ishwar Chaudhary 2/118, Bipul Sharma 2/141, 2/173).

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Fri, December 07 2018. 22:10 IST