You are here: Home » Reuters » News
Business Standard

U.S. grants temporary Iran oil waivers to eight countries including China, India: Pompeo

Reuters  |  WASHINGTON 

(Reuters) - The has granted exemptions to eight countries allowing them to temporarily continue buying Iranian oil, said on Monday, as reimposed sanctions on Iran's banking, and shipping industries.

Some of the eight countries - China, India, Greece, Italy, Taiwan, Japan, and - include OPEC member Iran's top customers.

Pompeo said more than 20 countries have already cut their imports from Iran, reducing purchases by more than 1 million barrels per day.

(Reporting by Lesley Wroughton, and Humeyra Pamuk; Editing by Frances Kerry)

(Only the headline and picture of this report may have been reworked by the Business Standard staff; the rest of the content is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Mon, November 05 2018. 19:38 IST