You are here: Home » Sports » IPL 2020 » News

HIGHLIGHTS: KXIP pulls a miraculous win against SRH, stays in playoffs race

It was all in SRH's favour but it lost the plot in the death overs where KXIP bagged 7 wickets to snatch victory and clinch two crucial points to stay in playoffs race

IPL 2020 | Kings XI Punjab | Sunrisers Hyderabad

BS Web Team  | New Delhi 


In Match 43 of the 2020 (IPL 2020), KL Rahul-led (KXIP) defeated  (SRH) at Dubai International Stadium on Saturday.

Chris Jordon and Arshdeep Singh starred with the ball in hand as (KXIP) defended a total of 126 to defeat (SRH) by 12 runs.

With this win, KXIP now has 10 points and is placed at the fifth spot in the points table. On the other hand, SRH is in sixth place with 8 points.
Chasing 127, SRH got off to a good start as openers David Warner and Jonny Bairstow put on 52 runs inside the first six overs. However in the seventh over, Ravi Bishnoi provided the much-needed breakthrough to KXIP as he dismissed Warner (35). In the very next over, Murugan Ashwin clean bowled Bairstow (19), reducing SRH to 58/2.

After conceding 52 runs in the first six overs, KXIP announced a remarkable comeback as in the next six overs, the side gave away just 25 runs and took three wickets.
Manish Pandey and Vijay Shankar put up a brief 33-run stand, but tight bowling from KXIP resulted in Pandey's (15) dismissal in the 16th over, with SRH still 27 runs away from the target. In the very next over, Arshdeep Singh sent Shankar (26) back to the pavilion and the match was set for a tense finish.

In the penultimate over, Chris Jordon dismissed Jason Holder (5), and Rashid Khan (0), and SunRisers' chase got derailed from that point. In the end, KXIP walked away with a 12-run victory. For KXIP, Jordon and Arshdeep Singh scalped three wickets each.

Earlier, a spirited bowling performance helped SRH restrict KXIP to 126/7 in the allotted twenty overs.

Sent into bat first, KXIP got off to a steady start as openers KL Rahul and Mandeep Singh put on 37 runs for the first wicket. 

Chris Gayle then joined skipper KL Rahul added 29 runs, but the stand came to an end in the 10th over as Jason Holder had Gayle (20) caught at long-off, reducing KXIP to 66/2.

Immediately after, Rashid Khan clean-bowled KL Rahul (27) in the 11th over, and KXIP was left in a spot of bother. 
Glenn Maxwell (12) and Deepak Hooda (0) also failed to leave a mark and KXIP was reduced to 88/5 in the 15th over.

In the final overs, KXIP was not able to get a launchpad for destructive striking and as a result, the side was restricted to under the 130-run mark. Nicholas Pooran remained unbeaten on 32 for KXIP while Rashid Khan returned with the figures of 2-14 for SRH.

KXIP vs SRH playing 11

made two changes in its playing 11, bringing in Mandeep Singh and Chris Jordan in place of Mayank Agarwal and James Neesham. Meanwhile, made one change as it picked Khaleel Ahmed in place of Shahbaz Nadeem.

KXIP playing 11:  KL Rahul(w/c), Chris Gayle, Mandeep Singh, Nicholas Pooran, Glenn Maxwell, Deepak Hooda, Murugan Ashwin, Chris Jordan, Mohammed Shami, Ravi Bishnoi, Arshdeep Singh.

SRH playing 11: David Warner(c), Jonny Bairstow(w), Manish Pandey, Vijay Shankar, Priyam Garg, Abdul Samad, Jason Holder, Rashid Khan, Khaleel Ahmed, Sandeep Sharma, T Natarajan.

Who holds orange and purple caps in 2020 IPL? Check here
IPL 2020: KXIP vs SRH full scorecard


Auto Refresh