IPL 2022 RCB vs KKR Highlights: Hasaranga shines in tense 3 wkt win for RCB

Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Kolkata Knight Riders: 129 was not easy to get for RCB. It required contributions from Willey, Rutherford, Shahbaz, and Dinesh Karthik to overpower Southee and Umesh

Image BS Web Team New Delhi
Fans spotted wearing Shreyas Iyer and Virat Kohli jersey ahead of the RCB vs KKR clash in IPL 2022. Photo:@KKRiders

Fans spotted wearing Shreyas Iyer and Virat Kohli jersey ahead of the RCB vs KKR clash in IPL 2022. Photo:@KKRiders

RCB vs KKR Highlights: It was the first match of the Indian Premier League 2022 that went down to the wire and into the last over with seven required from it and although Royal Challengers Bangalore managed to get those runs in only two balls, it was way close than what the final scorecard might tell. The target of 129 was chased by RCB with three wickets and four balls to spare at the DY Patil Stadium in Navi Mumbai on March 30, 2022. 

RCB vs KKR Match Summary

The chase didn't really start well for the red and gold brigade as they lost their top three in Virat Kohli, Faf du Plessis, and Anuj Rawat in the first three overs itself at a score of 17. But then David Willey and Sherfane Rutherford added 45 for the fourth wicket. After Willey's departure, Shahbaz Ahmed played a great knock (27 off 20 balls) and added 39 with Rutherford to take the game close before KKr lost three quick wickets in a space of seven balls one of which came through a sensational catch from Sheldon Jackson. 

However, with 17 required off the last 12 balls, Dinesh Karthik and Harshal Ptle saw the game through and won it with four balls to spare and three wickets in hand. 

Earlier in the evening, KKR could get up to only 128 runs thanks t0 some let hitting by Russell (25) and Umesh Yadav (18 off 12 balls) because had those runs not been added, getting to even 100 would have been difficult as half the team was blown in in Wanindu Hasaranga storm. 

RCB vs KKR Player of the Match: 

Wanindu Hasaranga was adjudged as the Player of the Match for his brilliant bowling. He took four important wickets of Shreyas Iyer, Sunil Narine, Sheldon Jackson, and Tim Southee and finished his spell with figures of 4/20 in four overs and also claimed the Purple cap. 

RCB Playing 11

Faf du Plessis(c), Anuj Rawat, Virat Kohli, Dinesh Karthik(w), Sherfane Rutherford, Shahbaz Ahmed, Wanindu Hasaranga, David Willey, Harshal Patel, Akash Deep, Mohammed Siraj

KKR Playing 11

Ajinkya Rahane, Venkatesh Iyer, Nitish Rana, Shreyas Iyer(c), Sam Billings, Sheldon Jackson(w), Andre Russell, Sunil Narine, Tim Southee, Umesh Yadav, Varun Chakravarthy

No article available in this category.

First Published: Mar 30 2022 | 4:53 PM IST

Explore News