You are here: Home » Sports » IPL 2020 » News

IPL 2020, SRH vs KKR highlights: Ferguson shines as KKR wins in Super Over

Lockie Ferguson restricted SRH to 2/2 in Super over, KKR won with two balls to spare

IPL 2020 | Kolkata Knight Riders | Sunrisers Hyderabad

BS Web Team  | New Delhi 


In match 35 of Indian premier league 2020 (IPL 2020), a fast and furious produced one of the most incredible bowling performances of this IPL edition to lead (KKR) to a thrilling Super Over win over (SRH) at Sheikh Zayed Stadium, Abu Dhabi on Sunday.


Ferguson proved to be the "Knight in Shining Armour" with his storehouse of variation as he dismissed and Abdul Samad in the Super Over, leaving KKR with only a three run-target to chase.

This was after David Warner's unbeaten 47 and 18 runs off the final Andre Russell over saw Sunrisers level the scores at 163 with KKR in the stipulated 20 overs.

Check 2020 IPL points table and team standings here

Ferguson was magnificent during the regulation 20 overs also as his 3/15 in 4 overs had SRH in all sorts of trouble. He bowled a first spell in which he dismissed Kane Williamson with a short ball, got rid of Priyam Garg with a slower one and saw the back of Manish Pandey with a yorker.

Who holds orange and purple caps in 2020 IPL? Check here

His five wickets in the game got KKR the much-needed two points to take their tally to 10 while Sunrisers stay put on 6 points and are in serious danger of missing the play-offs.

Earlier, Ex-captain Dinesh Karthik's carefree approach was well complemented by skipper Eoin Morgan's grace as managed a par 163 for five after being put into bat.


SUPER OVER scorecard
Sunrisers Hyderabad
Batsman Dismissal Runs Balls Fours Sixes
David Warner b Ferguson 0 1 0 0
Jonny Bairstow not out 0 0 0 0
Abdul Samad b Ferguson 2 1 0 0
Total: 2-2 in 3 balls
Bowler Overs Maiden Runs Wickets
Lockie Ferguson 0.3 0 2 2
Kolkata Knight Riderss
Batsman Dismissal Runs Balls Fours Sixes
Eoin morgan not out 1 2 0 0
Dinesh Karthik not out 0 2 0 0
Total: 3-0 in 4 balls
Bowler Overs Maiden Runs Wickets
Rashid Khan 0.4 0 1 0

Karthik (29 not out) and Morgan (34 off 23 balls) joined forces at 105 for four and added 58 runs in the last five overs after 150 was looking a tall-order at one stage.

Morgan's innings had three fours and a flicked six over mid-wicket off Basil Thampi while Karthik hit a couple of sixes and equal number of boundaries.

T Natarajan (2/40) was the most successful bowler but it was Vijay Shankar (1/20 in 4 overs) who was the most economical.

Rahul Tripathi (23 off 15 balls) gave the first charge in the Powerplay as he hit Natarajan for a straight six and a pulled boundary while Shubman Gill (36 off 37 balls) struggled to time the ball, save an over from Thampi when he got three successive fours.

SRH scorecard

Batsman Dismissal Runs Balls Fours Sixes
Jonny Bairstow c Russell b Chakravarthy 36 28 7 0
Kane Williamson c Rana b Ferguson 29 19 4 1
Priyam Garg b Ferguson 4 7 0 0
David Warner not out 47 33 5 0
Manish Pandey b Ferguson 6 7 0 0
Vijay Shankar c Gill b Cummins 7 10 0 0
Abdul Samad c Gill b Mavi 23 15 2 1
Rashid Khan not out 1 2 0 0
Total: 163-6 in 20 Overs
Bowler Overs Maiden Runs Wickets
Pat Cummins 4 0 28 1
Shivam Mavi 3 0 34 1
Varun Chakravarthy 3 0 22 1
Andre Russel 2 0 29 0
Lockie Ferguson 4 0 15 3
Kuldeep Yadav 2 0 9 0

Tripathi couldn't maintain the momentum as an ugly cross-batted hoick off Natarajan only ended in the bails flying off.

Gill however after those flurry of fours found it difficult to up the ante. Nitish Rana (29 off 19 balls) looked in good nick after a gap of few games.

He straight away took on rival team's best bowler Rashid Khan and deposited him straight for a six and also found a couple of boundaries.

But Gill's inability to rotate strike did put KKR in a spot of bother as he tried an inside out lofted shot off Rashid. Priyam Garg, running towards his left from long-off, took a brilliant diving catch to see the opener's back.

Gill's dismissal was followed by Rana's who mis-timed a shot off Vijay Shankar and was again caught by Garg, who ran forward to take a well-judged catch.

Andre Russell's (9 off 11 balls) season just got from bad to worse as his shot off Natarajan's slower one landed in the hands of Shankar at deep mid-wicket boundary. From a stable 87 for 1 in the 12th over, KKR had slumped to 105 for 4 at the end of the 15th over.

KKR inning's key highlights

Powerplay 1: Overs 0.1 - 6.0 (Mandatory - 48 runs, 1 wicket)
Kolkata Knight Riders: 50 runs in 6.5 overs (41 balls), Extras 0
Strategic Timeout: - 64/1 in 9.0 overs (Shubman Gill 32, Rana 9)
Kolkata Knight Riders: 100 runs in 14.1 overs (86 balls), Extras 1
Strategic Timeout: Kolkata Knight Riders - 111/4 in 16.0 overs ( Morgan 9, Karthik 3)
Kolkata Knight Riders: 150 runs in 19.2 overs (117 balls), Extras 3
5th Wicket: 50 runs in 27 balls (Morgan 20, Karthik 29, Ex 1)
Innings Break: Kolkata Knight Riders - 163/5 in 20.0 overs (Karthik 29)

KKR scorecard

Batsman Dismissal Runs Balls Fours Sixes
Shubman Gill c Priyam b Rashid 36 37 5 0
Rahul Tripathi b Natarajan 23 16 2 1
Nitish Rana c Priyam b Shankar 29 20 3 1
Andre Russell c Shankjar b Natarajan 9 11 1 0
Eoin Morgan c Pandey b Thampi 34 23 3 1
Dinesh Karthik not out 29 14 2 2
Total: 164-5 in 20 Overs
Bowler Overs Maiden Runs Wickets
Sandeep Sharma 4 0 27 0
Basil Thampi 4 0 46 1
T Natarajan 4 0 40 2
Vijay Shankar 4 0 20 1
Rashid Khan 4 0 28 1

KKR vs SRH playing 11
Both Hyderabad and Kolkata made two changes each in their playing 11. SRH brought Abdul Samad and Basil Thampi in its playing 11 while KKR picked Kuldeep Yadav and Kiwi pacer in place of Prasidh Krishna and Chris Green respectively.

KKR playing 11: Rahul Tripathi, Shubman Gill, Nitish Rana, Dinesh Karthik(w), Eoin Morgan(c), Andre Russell, Pat Cummins, Shivam Mavi, Kuldeep Yadav, Lockie Ferguson, Varun Chakravarthy.

SRH playing 11: David Warner(c), Jonny Bairstow(w), Manish Pandey, Kane Williamson, Priyam Garg, Vijay Shankar, Abdul Samad, Rashid Khan, Sandeep Sharma, T Natarajan, Basil Thampi.


Auto Refresh