Business Standard
You are here » Home » Radha Mohan Singh


Radha Mohan Singh

Radha Mohan Singh is a Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) politician and the Minister of Agriculture and Farmer Welfare in the Narendra Modi government. He has been a Member of Parliament (MP) in the Lok Sabha from Purvi Champaran for two consecutive terms -- from 2009 to 2014 and from 2014 to 2019. He was the President of BJP's Bihar state unit from 2006 to 2009.
Radha Mohan Singh entered politics as a student leader in 1967 when he was elected as a Nagar Pramukh of Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP). Subsequently, he joined the Jana Sangh and later the BJP. Singh was an MP representing the Motihari Lok Sabha constituency from 1996 to 1998, which was then merged into Paschim Champaran in 1999. He has been an active RSS worker and embarked his political journey by becoming a member of Jan Sangh and BJP. During his multiple stints as a Lok Sabha MP, Singh has been a member of various committees on Railways, Communications, Petroleum and Natural Gas, Surface Transport and External Affairs.
He has been a constant advocator of the Modi government's efforts to double farmers' income by 2022 and dedicated the Interim Budget 2019 to farmers. After facing criticism over agrarian distress, the government has been trying to woo farmers with relief packages ahead of polls. Singh has been critical of United Progressive Alliance governments' agricultural policies.
In the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, Radha Mohan Singh is the BJP nominee from the Paschim Champaran constituency. It is a BJP bastion, with the party's Dr Sanjay Jaiswal holding the seat since 2009 Lok Sabha elections. Voting for the will be held on May 12 in the sixth phase. 


Radha Mohan Singh In News