You are here: Home » Current Affairs » News
Business Standard

Congress not to move no-confidence motion against BJP govt in K'taka

BS Reporter  |  Chennai/ Bangalore 

The Opposition Congress on Monday said it would not move a no-confidence motion against the BJP government in the state legislative Assembly stating it does not have required numbers to bring down the BJP government.

“We expect the BJP government to fall on its own. We will not move a no confidence motion. If the BJP government has any respect for the constitution, they should not present the Budget,” Siddaramaiah, leader of the Opposition, said.

Talking to reporters, here, he said though the BJP government enjoys a majority on the paper, it does not enjoy the support of some of the ministers close to former chief minister B S Yeddyurappa. “The government will fall on its own. If government respects the Constitution, it should recommend dissolution of the House, and seek a fresh mandate,” Siddaramaiah added.

Commenting on Governor HR Bhardwaj’s speech to the joint session of the state legislature, he said “It was a bundle of lies.”

“There is no new point in the governor’s speech. The government has completely failed in law and order, power generation and state finances. The government has hardly mobilised 46 per cent of the budgeted revenues for the current fiscal and borrowed huge sum of money amounting to Rs 26,000 crore by end of March this year. It has no money to spend for the development works,” he said.

Recently, 14 rebel legislators of the ruling party had quit the Assembly, while resignations of two more legislators are pending with Speaker KG Bopaiah. The 14 resignations have reduced the strength of the ruling party to 106 from 120, including the Speaker, in the Assembly. The BJP has the support of one of the seven independents who is a Cabinet minister. The nominated member is also a BJP member.

The combined Opposition strength, including six independents, is 103. If Bopaiah accepts the two pending resignations, the BJP will be down to 104, including the Speaker. Among the 14 who have quit the assembly and the BJP are party's former chief minister B S Yeddyurappa and 12 of his supporters in the party.

Dear Reader,

Business Standard has always strived hard to provide up-to-date information and commentary on developments that are of interest to you and have wider political and economic implications for the country and the world. Your encouragement and constant feedback on how to improve our offering have only made our resolve and commitment to these ideals stronger. Even during these difficult times arising out of Covid-19, we continue to remain committed to keeping you informed and updated with credible news, authoritative views and incisive commentary on topical issues of relevance.
We, however, have a request.

As we battle the economic impact of the pandemic, we need your support even more, so that we can continue to offer you more quality content. Our subscription model has seen an encouraging response from many of you, who have subscribed to our online content. More subscription to our online content can only help us achieve the goals of offering you even better and more relevant content. We believe in free, fair and credible journalism. Your support through more subscriptions can help us practise the journalism to which we are committed.

Support quality journalism and subscribe to Business Standard.

Digital Editor

First Published: Tue, February 05 2013. 00:10 IST