You are here: Home » Current Affairs » Coronavirus » News
Business Standard

Bharat Biotech's Covaxin is safe for children between 2 and 18 yrs: Lancet

Data from over 50 million doses reveals minimal side effects

Topics
Coronavirus Vaccine | Lancet report | Bharat Biotech

Sohini Das  |  Mumbai 

Bharat Biotech has also finished administering the vaccines for its paediatric trial of Covaxin. Now, it is analysing the data before it can submit it to the regulator for review.
Bharat Biotech conducted phase 2/3, open-label and multicenter study to evaluate the safety, reactogenicity, and immunogenicity of Covaxin in healthy children and adolescents in the 2-18 age group.

Bharat Biotech's Covaxin has proved to be safe, well-tolerated and immunogenic in the paediatric population in Phase-II and -III studies, according to a study published in the peer-reviewed journal The Lancet.

has a stockpile of more than 50 million doses of Covaxin ready to be distributed as required.

The company claimed that Covaxin is one of the first Covid-19 vaccines in the world to generate data in the 2-18 year age group. Data from over 50 million doses given to children in India reveals minimal side effects. This data is now peer-reviewed and published in The Lancet Infectious Diseases.

did not report vaccine-related cases of Adverse Events Following Immunisation (AEFIs), such as myocarditis, blood clots, and pericarditis.

"Neutralising antibodies in children were on an average 1.7 times higher than in adults," said .

The same dosage of Covaxin can be administered to adults and children for primary immunisation and booster doses.

ALSO READ: US FDA advisers approve Moderna, Pfizer vaccines for kids under 5

Bharat Biotech conducted phase 2/3, open-label and multicenter study to evaluate the safety, reactogenicity, and immunogenicity of Covaxin in healthy children and adolescents in the 2-18 age group.

The clinical trial conducted in the pediatric population between June 2021 and September 2021 has shown the vaccine to be safe, less reactogenic, and robustly immunogenic. The data was submitted to the Central Drugs Standard Control Organisation (CDSCO) in October 2021 and received a nod for emergency use in children aged 6-18 years.

The study published in The Lancet noted: "From May 27, 2021, to July 10, 2021, we enrolled 526 children sequentially into groups 1 (n=176), 2 (n=175), and 3 (n=175). Vaccination was well tolerated, with no differences in reactogenicity between the three age groups, and no serious adverse events, deaths, or withdrawals due to an adverse event."

Krishna Ella, Chairman and Managing Director, Bharat Biotech, said, "Safety of the vaccine is critical for children, and we are glad to share that Covaxin has now proven data for safety and immunogenicity in children. We have now achieved our goal of developing a safe and efficacious Covid-19 vaccine for adults and children, for primary immunisation and booster doses, making Covaxin a universal vaccine. It has proven to be a highly safe vaccine based on data from more than 50 million doses administered to children in India."

In the study, no serious adverse event was reported. A total of 374 adverse events were reported, and the majority of adverse events were mild in nature and resolved within one day. Pain at the injection site was the most reported adverse event.

BATTLE READY

•Bharat Biotech has a stockpile of more than 50 million doses of Covaxin ready to be distributed as required

•Company claims Covaxin is one of the first Covid vaccines to generate data in the 2-18 year age group

•Firm said vaccine-related cases of AEFIs such as myocarditis, blood clots, and pericarditis were not reported

•Clinical trial was conducted in the pediatric population between June 2021 and September 2021

•374 adverse events were reported, and the majority of adverse events was mild in nature and resolved within one day

Dear Reader,


Business Standard has always strived hard to provide up-to-date information and commentary on developments that are of interest to you and have wider political and economic implications for the country and the world. Your encouragement and constant feedback on how to improve our offering have only made our resolve and commitment to these ideals stronger. Even during these difficult times arising out of Covid-19, we continue to remain committed to keeping you informed and updated with credible news, authoritative views and incisive commentary on topical issues of relevance.
We, however, have a request.

As we battle the economic impact of the pandemic, we need your support even more, so that we can continue to offer you more quality content. Our subscription model has seen an encouraging response from many of you, who have subscribed to our online content. More subscription to our online content can only help us achieve the goals of offering you even better and more relevant content. We believe in free, fair and credible journalism. Your support through more subscriptions can help us practise the journalism to which we are committed.

Support quality journalism and subscribe to Business Standard.

Digital Editor

First Published: Fri, June 17 2022. 09:51 IST
RECOMMENDED FOR YOU