You are here: Home » Current Affairs » News » National
Business Standard

Govt sets up 13-member task force for unmanned aerial vehicle tech road map

The task force would be headed by Minister of State for Civil Aviation Jayant Sinha

Press Trust of India  |  New Delhi 

Jayant Sinha, Civil Aviation Minister
MoS Civil Aviation Jayant Sinha addressing at the Airport Investment Summit in Mumbai.

The government on Thursday announced setting up of a 13-member task force, headed by Jayant Sinha, to prepare a roadmap for the implementation of technology.

The task force would develop a roadmap with implementable recommendations for central as well as state governments, industry and research institutions, an official release said.

Headed by Sinha, who is the for Civil Aviation, the task force would have R N Choubey, Rajiv Gauba, and as members.

of Integrated Defence Staff Lt Gen Satish Dua, Bureau of Police Research and Development's A P Maheshwari, B S Bhullar, DRDO and Secretary S Christopher, Department of Scientific and Industrial Research's and Secretary Girish Sahni, are in the task force.

S K Mishra, at the Civil Aviation Ministry, and A K Ghosh, HoD of at IIT Kanpur are also part of the panel.

Besides, 20 industry experts would be co-opted as special invitees to the task force on need basis. They include BEL CMD Gowtama M V, Pratyush Kumar, HAL CMD T Suvarna Raju and Executive

The committee would prepare a roadmap, including "outcomes, timelines, implementation & review mechanism and measurable metrics" for the implementation of Besides, the role of the industry would be clearly delineated, according to the release.

It would also focus on research and development, acquisition and commercialisation, application and adoption in specific sectors, the regulatory framework as well as the preference for Make in

First Published: Thu, April 12 2018. 23:21 IST