You are here: Home » Elections » Delhi Assembly Election » News

Delhi election exit polls highlights: Kejriwal-led AAP set to retain power

Delhi election exit polls have been published. Catch all the Delhi Assembly election 2020 live updates on Business Standard

Delhi Assembly Elections | Arvind Kejriwal | Aam Aadmi Party

BS Web Team  | New Delhi 


Delhi election LIVE updates: TV exits polls predicted the (AAP) will return to power in Delhi after elections ended on Saturday with more than 55 per cent turnout.

If AAP retains power, it will be the third straight electoral setback for the (BJP), which lost power in Jharkhand and Maharashtra last year. The BJP last formed a government in Delhi in 1998 and its campaign was marked by controversial speeches. Junior finance minister Anurag Thakur was barred from campaigning by the Election Commission after he exhorted crowds to shoot so-called traitors to the nation, alluding to those protesting the Citizenship Amendment Act. The city saw at least three shooting attacks near the protest site ahead of the poll.

The Congress, India’s main Opposition party, relied on the influence of a set of high-profile candidates and the legacy of its leader Sheila Dikshit, who governed the city for 15 years before being voted out in 2013.
Delhi election results will be declared on February 11 (Tuesday).


Auto Refresh