Business Standard

DMK announces names for 173 seats for Tamil Nadu assembly elections

M Karunanidhi to contest from Tiruvarur, M K Stalin from Kolathur

Tamil Nadu Assembly Election

BS Reporter  |  Chennai 

M Karunanidhi
M Karunanidhi
Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) leader and former Chief Minister M Karunanidhi will be contesting from Tiruvarur constituency, his hometown, while M K Stalin, his son and DMK leader will contest from Kolathur, Chennai, according to the list of candidates announced by the party today, for the Assembly elections to be held on May 16, 2016.

The party has today announced candidates' list for 173 assembly constituencies out of the total 234 constituencies in Tamil Nadu. It has allocated 61 seats to the alliance parties, mainly to the Congress.

In Radhakrishnan Nagar constituency, where All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK) supremo and the present Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu J Jayalalithaa is contesting, the party has fielded Simla Muthu Chozhan.

The party has earlier announced that Karunanidhi will be submitting his nomination at Tiruvarur on April 25.

The DMK leader is planning to start his election campaign in Chennai on April 23. Karunanidhi contested at Tiruvarur Constituency in 2011, after a long period as it was under reserved category till 2008.

This time, senor party leaders such as party general secretary K Anbazhagan, Ko Si Mani, Subha Tangavelan among some others did not find their place in the candidates' list.

DMK has also entered into an alliance with Congress to contest in the assembly elections in Puducherry together. Congress will contest in 21 constituencies in Puducherry, while DMK will contest in nine, it is said.

Subscribe to Business Standard Premium

Exclusive Stories, Curated Newsletters, 26 years of Archives, E-paper, and more!

Insightful news, sharp views, newsletters, e-paper, and more! Unlock incisive commentary only on Business Standard.

Download the Business Standard App for latest Business News and Market News .

First Published: Wed, April 13 2016. 19:52 IST