You are here: Home » International » News » Economy
Business Standard

Japan ratifies world's biggest free trade agreement involving China, ASEAN

Japan on Friday ratified the Regional Comprehensive Economic Partnership (RCEP)

RCEP | Japan | China


Photo: Shutterstock

on Friday ratified the Regional Comprehensive Economic Partnership (RCEP), a free trade agreement between China, Australia, and the Association of Southeast Asian Nations.

Tokyo becomes the third member to ratify the agreement, which was signed by 15 countries in November last year. Among the signatories, Singapore and have completed ratification procedures.

It deposited its ratification instrument with the ASEAN Secretariat, Kyodo News reported.

The Cabinet approved the accord Friday, completing Tokyo's necessary domestic procedures for the ratification.

It will be Japan's first trade deal involving both and South Korea -- its largest and third-biggest trade partners.

"The deal will strengthen the link between and the (Asia-Pacific) region, which is the world's growth center, and will contribute to Japan's economic growth when it comes into force," Economy, Trade and Industry Minister Hiroshi Kajiyama said at a press conference.

The Japanese government estimated earlier this year that the trade treaty could lift the gross domestic product of the world's third-largest by about 2.7 per cent.

The pact, signed by 15 countries last November, will enter into effect 60 days after it is ratified by at least six ASEAN members and three other signatory countries.

The groups the 10 ASEAN states -- Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, and Vietnam -- as well as Australia, China, Japan, New Zealand, and South Korea. It is described as the "largest" regional trading agreement to this day.

The was originally being negotiated between 16 countries including India.

In November last year, India decided not to join the agreement as its key concerns were not addressed.

The key reasons behind New Delhi's decision to remain out of the world's biggest trade agreement include inadequate protection against import surge, insufficient differential with China, possible circumvention of rules of origin, keeping the base year as 2014 and no credible assurances on market access and non-tariff barriers.

(Only the headline and picture of this report may have been reworked by the Business Standard staff; the rest of the content is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

Dear Reader,

Business Standard has always strived hard to provide up-to-date information and commentary on developments that are of interest to you and have wider political and economic implications for the country and the world. Your encouragement and constant feedback on how to improve our offering have only made our resolve and commitment to these ideals stronger. Even during these difficult times arising out of Covid-19, we continue to remain committed to keeping you informed and updated with credible news, authoritative views and incisive commentary on topical issues of relevance.
We, however, have a request.

As we battle the economic impact of the pandemic, we need your support even more, so that we can continue to offer you more quality content. Our subscription model has seen an encouraging response from many of you, who have subscribed to our online content. More subscription to our online content can only help us achieve the goals of offering you even better and more relevant content. We believe in free, fair and credible journalism. Your support through more subscriptions can help us practise the journalism to which we are committed.

Support quality journalism and subscribe to Business Standard.

Digital Editor

First Published: Fri, June 25 2021. 16:33 IST