You are here: Home » News-ANI » National
Business Standard

EC announces dates for Meghalaya, Tripura, Nagaland Assembly polls

ANI  |  New Delhi [India] 

Polling in will take place on February 18 and and on February 27. The results for all the three northeastern states will be declared on March 3.

The terms of Meghalaya, and assemblies will end on March 6, March 13 and March 14 respectively. All the three states have 60 seats each.

The (Marxist) (CPI-M) has a strong foothold in and is in power for the past 25 years.

The incumbent is at the helm for the past 19 years. He held the term for the fourth time after the party swept away the 2013 assembly elections.

In the last polls in 2013, the CPI (M) managed to bag an overwhelming majority with 51 seats, while the rest was shared by the Trinamool (TMC) and the party.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), which did not win even a single seat in the last polls, has been working hard to overthrow the CPI (M) rule this time. Six MLAs, who first joined the (TMC), switched over to the in August last year.

Apart from this, there are three major tribal parties in Tripura- the Indigenous People's Front of Tripura (IPFT), Indigenous (INPT) and Conference of Tripura (NCT).

The election in is significant for the Congress party, as it is one of the few states under its rule. The Congress is in power for the last eight years in and had won 29 seats in the previous election.

Although had brought more stability for the party, the is now looking to take over Meghalaya using the development plank.

in December opened several infrastructure projects ahead of the assembly elections in Meghalaya.

Parties other than the too are gearing up to fight the 2018 Assembly polls in Meghalaya.

NPP (People Party) is out with the name of 24 candidates, notably among them is former union minister The party also has quite a presence in Jaintia and Khasi hills.

Meanwhile, has decided to join forces with other parties with a similar manifesto and aims to bring down the Congress.

The upcoming assembly elections in Meghalaya having 60 seats will mark its 10th legislature. (ANI)

As for the state assembly, the Naga People's Front is currently dominating the House.

Meanwhile, Nagaland said that the final rolls published has 11, 89,264 voters, lower than the electorate size of 11, 92,377 enumerated in 2013.

Yesterday, T R Zeliang met and briefed him about the 'desire' of various organisation and church leaders in Nagaland for a "Solution before Election".

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Thu, January 18 2018. 12:45 IST