You are here: Home » News-ANI » National
Business Standard

LS polls: Rahul Gandhi promises 'special status' to Andhra if voted to power

ANI  |  Politics 

on Sunday promised 'special category' status to Andhra Pradesh, if voted to power in the ensuing elections.

"Giving special status to Andhra is not only a commitment made by and ji. It is a commitment made by the country to It is our commitment that we will give special status to the moment we come to power in Delhi," said while addressing a public rally in

Targeting for not fulfilling his commitment of providing special status to the state, Rahul said: "Mr Modi has been for five years and he has not fulfilled this commitment. Frankly, I am surprised that the parties in are not aggressively pushing Mr Modi to give the state what was promised."

Rahul, who has recently introduced his NYAY (Nyuntam Aay Yojana) to assure Rs 72,000 to 20 per cent of India's poorest families, said: "I and party will deliver the NYAY scheme like we delivered MGNREGA, White Revolution and Green Revolution. Rs 72,000 a year...I am not Mr Modi, I do not lie. He said he will give you Rs 15 lakh and that was a lie. The cannot give you Rs 15 lakh in a but the can give Rs 72,000 a year to the poorest people in "

The Congress accused Modi of waiving loans of the rich people like and supporting and "Modi waived loans of rich, but he did not waive farmers' loans. In Chhattisgarh, and Rajasthan, we waived off loans of farmers within two days. Only Congress can protect farmers."

"People are living in fear under Modi's regime but once we come to power will definitely improve the situation," he added.

Senior Congress AK Antony on Sunday announced that will be contesting from Wayanad parliamentary constituency in in addition to Amethi in

The seven-phase polls are set to begin on April 11 and will continue till May 19. The 175-member will go to polls on April 11 simultaneously with the elections. The counting of votes will take place on May 23.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Sun, March 31 2019. 14:11 IST