You are here: Home » News-ANI » National
Business Standard

Modi Govt accords absolute independence to Constitutional bodies: MoS Jitendra Singh

ANI  |  New Delhi [India] 

Union Minister of State Dr on Friday castigated the by saying that Modi led Democratic Alliance (NDA) accords absolute independence to the Constitutional bodies, including the Commission (EC).

He also said the Congress' allegation that the Centre exerted pressure on the Commission (EC) over poll dates actually speaks about the grand-old party's mindset.

The on Thursday accused the Centre of exerting pressure on the EC to defer announcement of the assembly polls, after the latter announced the Himachal assembly polls on November 9, but did not make an announcement for

When asked about the Congress' allegation, said, "What and the other Opposition leaders are saying actually amounts to questioning the prudence, the wisdom, the discretion and above all the independence of a constitutional body like the Commission."

He alleged that the Congress' allegation shows that it used the Constitutional bodies during its rule.

"If they are still saying so and believing that the EC is under some sort of pressure from the government, I think they are speaking from their own experience, mindset of how they have been using the Constitutional bodies during their rule of over half a century," said the Union MoS in Prime Minister Office.

He said that the accords absolute independence to the constitutional bodies.

"The accords absolute independence to the Constitutional bodies including the Election Commission. Therefore, I think the Congress is actually betraying its own deeds in the manner it was indulging and interfering in the functioning of the EC and other constitutional bodies during its rule," said Singh.

The Congress is eyeing to dethrone the ruling BJP in Gujarat. The last Congress government in Gujarat was led by Chhabildas Mehta from February 17, 1994 to March 13, 1995.

The 14th legislative assembly election in Gujarat is to be held by the end of 2017 as the term of 13th assembly ends on January 22, 2018.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Fri, October 13 2017. 20:57 IST