You are here: Home » News-ANI » International » World
Business Standard

Nepal: 17 Maoist ministers quit

ANI  |  Kathmandu [Nepal] 

Seventeen ministers affiliated to Nepal's Center resigned on Friday.

All ministers - 17 (10 cabinet and seven ministers of state) - were divested of their portfolios; they could enjoy some perks but would no longer have control over ministries and so would not be able to use them during elections. Nepali and its allies would be the ones retaining control.

"Giriraj Mani Pokhrel, (the then Health Minister) submitted the resignation letter from the Center during the cabinet meeting of Friday," Press advisor of Sher Bahadur Deuba, Govinda Pariyar said.

Maoist leaders Krishna Bahadur Mahara, Janardan Sharma, Tek Bahadur Basnet, Girirajmani Pokhrel, Pradbhu Sah, Mahendra Bahadur Shahi, Shiva Kumar Mandal, and were amongst the 17 ministers.

Following the announcement of an alliance between the and the Communist Party of Nepal-Unified Marxist Leninist in October last year, stripped ministers of their portfolios.

Maoist ministers cited delay in elections and stripping them off posts as reasons behind their resignations.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Fri, January 12 2018. 19:30 IST