You are here: Home » News-ANI » Sports
Business Standard

Virat Kohli sweeps three major ICC awards

ANI  |  Cricket 

has become the to win the Trophy for of the Year, the Men's of the Year and the ODI of the Year awards following an extraordinary 2018.

The Indian had won the Sir and ICC ODI of the Year awards last year and was also the of the Year in 2012.

"It feels amazing. It is a reward for all the hard work that you do throughout the calendar year. I feel really grateful and very happy with the team doing well at the same time myself performing. Having recognition at the global level from the ICC is something you feel proud of as a because you understand that there are many players playing the game," the 30-year-old said on Tuesday.

"To be rewarded in this manner from amongst all of them is obviously a very proud moment for me and something that gives you more motivation to keep repeating the same things because you have to keep the standard of up and keep bringing inconsistent performances. From that point of view, these awards give you that extra motivation," he added.

Kohli is not only the to win these three major together but he has also been named the of the ICC Test and ODI teams of the year for a fabulous run in international He scored 1,322 runs at an average of 55.08 in 13 Tests with five hundred's during the calendar year while in 14 ODIs he amassed 1202 runs at an astonishing average of 133.55 with six centuries. He also scored 211 runs in 10 T20Is.

The born cricketer, who first came into limelight when he led to victory at the ICC U19 World Cup in in 2008, finished the year as the top-ranked batsman in Tests and ODIs. The highest scorer in both forms of the game in 2018, Kohli was one of only two batsmen to score more than 1,000 runs in Tests and only among three to do so in ODI cricket.

Congratulating the Indian skipper, David Richardson said: "Sincere congratulations to every one of our individual winners and those players named in our ICC Test and ODI teams of the year. Special mention must go to Virat Kohli, who becomes the first ever player to win the Sir award along with of the Year and of the Year and be named as of both teams."

Kohli was the unanimous choice of the for the Trophy with fast bowler coming in second for both these awards and the ICC of the Year award. Afghanistan leg-spinner was up to Kohli for the of the Year award.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Tue, January 22 2019. 07:04 IST