You are here: Home » News-IANS » Sports
Business Standard

Delhi, Vidarbha continue unbeaten run in Vijay Hazare Trophy

IANS  |  New Delhi 

continued their undefeated run in the Trophy thrashing by eight wickets at Dharamsala even as Vidarbha stretched their unbeaten streak to four matches, getting past the Services by 17 runs at on Friday.

Group B toppers, collected four points riding on Pradeep Sangwan's fifer and later an unbeaten century from Dhruv Shorey (103) to tame by eight wickets.

Put in to bat, managed 246, thanks to Shamshuzama Kazi's 59 runs lower down the order even as Sangwan (5/41) ripped through the top order before Pawan Negi (3/40) joined the party in dismissing the middle order.

In response, recovered quickly from Unmukt Chand's (1) loss, courtesy Hiten Dalal (87) and Shorey's 138-run second wicket stand. Shorey then forged another 108-run unbeaten partnership in the company of Nitish Rana (49 not out), to help his side cross the line with 35 balls to spare.

In another Group B fixture, Vivek Singh's 125-ball 147 for Bengal went in vain, as his team fell short of Uttar Pradesh's 329/4 by a mere 7 runs at Bilaspur.

In another tie of the same group, hosts pipped by 1 wicket at Nadaun.

In Group D, Vidarbha continued their fabulous run to lead the table after getting past the Services by 17 runs.

Electing to bat after winning the toss, Vidarbha rode on half centuries from Apoorv Wankhade (73) and Karn Sharma (54) to put on 267/9 before restricting the opposition to 250 runs, despite a fine 77-ball 100 from Diwesh Pathania.

In other Group D matches, hosts beat Saurashtra by 4 wickets while pipped by five runs at

In Group C, hosts lost to by 8 wickets while edged past by 1 wicket, also in Chennai.

In another Group C tie in Chennai, rode on Amitkumar Gautam's unbeaten 136-ball 147 to chase down Mumbai's 268/8 with 15 balls and six wickets to spare.



(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Fri, February 09 2018. 19:06 IST