You are here: Home » News-IANS » Politics
Business Standard

Deputy CM among three BJP nominees for Bihar LC polls

IANS  |  Patna 

Deputy and are among the three candidates whose names were announced for the Legislative Council polls by the ruling BJP on Sunday.

Sanjay Paswan, a former Union and Dalit face of the in Bihar, is its third candidate.

The opposition -- part of the Rashtriya Janata Dal-led along with Hindustani Awam Morcha (HAM) -- also announced the name of

The has announced April 26 as the polling date for the biennial elections to 11 Legislative Council seats that will fall vacant on May 6.

BJP ally Janata Dal-United is yet to formally announce the names of three candidates.

JD-U sources said that party President and will file the nomination on Monday, the last date for filing of papers along with two other candidates.

Last week, the RJD announced the names of former Rabri Devi, Santosh Manjhi, son of another former Jitan Ram Manjhi, and

While the terms of 10 sitting members will end on May 6, one seat fell vacant when Narendra Singh was disqualified on January 6, 2016, ahead of the end of his term on May 6, 2018.

Nitish Kumar, Sushil Kumar Modi, and are among those whose terms will end on May 6.



(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Sun, April 15 2018. 19:56 IST