You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

BJP announces candidates for council seats in Bihar, UP

Press Trust of India  |  New Delhi 

Deputy Chief is among the 13 candidates the BJP today announced for and legislative council seats with an eye on social equations aimed at consolidating its votes.

Among the 10 candidates for UP seats are Bukkal Nawab, and Jaiveer Singh, who had left rival parties to join the BJP after its win in the Assembly polls, besides Mohsin Raja, the lone Muslim in the UP government, the party said in a statement.

is another Muslim candidate in the list.

In Bihar, two other candidates are Mangal Pandey, a in the Nitish Kumar government, and Sanjay Paswan, a former Union minister who hails from an influential Dalit community.

The candidature of Paswan, who was kept out of any important responsibility within the organisation for several years, underlines the saffron party's renewed vigour to win over Dalits in a state where they will be key in the direct fight between the BJP-JD(U) combine and the RJD-alliance.

Other candidates for the UP polls are Mahendra Singh, Sarojini Agarwal, Vidya Sagar Sonkar, Vijay Bahadur Pathak, and

The MLCs will be elected by MLAs and BJP sources said all their candidates are likely to emerge victorious.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Sun, April 15 2018. 16:00 IST