You are here: Home » News-IANS » Sports
Business Standard

GD Birla, South Point schools win titles at AIISRC

IANS  |  Kolkata 

Displaying grit and stamina G.D. Birla High School, South Point, Jatragachi Pranabnanda High Shool and cornered the limelight winning the titles in their respective groups in the finals of the 47th All Invitation School Championship (AIISRC) at course in Rabindra Sarovar, here on Saturday.

In the senior girls group final, Atriya Dasgupta, Debanjali Mazumdar, and of regained the title after three years defeating Priyadarshini, "We are happy to bring back the glory to our school. The final race was quite tough. We were going neck and neck from beginning. In the midway, we achieved a slender lead and held on to that till the finish."

The senior boys final saw South Point High School, comprising Arunava Das, Prateek Gupta, and Kushal Mundra, producing the best timing in this regatta finishing the 500 metre course in 1m 58.22 seconds to beat to bag the championship. Khalsa clocked 2m 1 sec.

On the Prateek said, "Last year we fished third. This time we were determined and practiced hard to be on the top. It was Khalsa which took the lead in the beginning. But we didn't lose heart and kept pressing. Finally, we levelled and then forged ahead towards the end."

The victory for Jatrgachi Pranabananada High School, represented by Rejayan Karim, and and Rejaul Molla, was a foregone conclusion. They beat with 2m 6 seconds against 2m 30 seconds of rivals.

The junior girls final turned out to be the most keenly corace of the championship where comprising Dinki Thakur, Anoushka Sundar, Avni Maheswari and Srinjayee Das piped Modern High "A" by 0 .5 seconds to bag the title. clocked 2m 25 seconds against rival's 2m 25.5 seconds.

Following are the results.

JUNIOR GIRLS: Ashok Hall beat Modern High

JUNIOR BOYS: beat Tollygunge Adarsha Hindi High School

SENIOR GIRLS: beat Sushila Birla High School




(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Sat, May 11 2019. 22:42 IST