You are here: Home » News-IANS » Politics
Business Standard

Himachal BJP MP Virender Kashyap denied ticket

IANS  |  Shimla 

Virender Kashyap, the sitting from (Reserved) constituency, has been denied a ticket to contest the elections.

Kashyap, 68, was elected to Parliament for the first time in 2009 by defying the sweep in

The has instead fielded greenhorn Suresh Kashyap, a sitting from Pachhad in district, against Dhani of the

Both the candidates are former servicemen.

Party leaders said the refused to nominate Kashyap on the basis of a survey that suggested that 66 per cent of people were not in his favour.

The outgoing MP unsuccessfully contested the parliamentary seat six times and the constituency four times.

"This time the party has changed my role. We will fight together and ensure victory on all four seats in the state," Kashyap told IANS.

In the 2009 general elections, Kashyap defeated two-time MP Dhani by a margin of 27,327 votes.

In 2014, he retained the seat by defeating Congress' with a huge margin of 84,187 votes.

The constituency, which covers three districts of Shimla, and Solan, had gone along predictable lines for decades, returning Congress candidate six times, from 1980 to 1998. In all these years, Sultanpuri defeated Kashyap.

In 1999, when Sultanpuri was denied ticket, the BJP left the seat for its alliance partner Himachal Vikas Congress (HVC) that was floated by former Telecom after parting ways with

At that time, lost all the four seats.

Shandil, who contested the elections on the HVC ticket, defeated the Congress candidate

To ensure his maiden victory, Kashyap reached out to his electors by writing over one million postcards.



(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Tue, April 09 2019. 13:22 IST