Business Standard

Jasprit Bumrah steals the show at Indian Cricket Heroes event


IANS London
Indian Cricket Heroes - an initiative by R.P. Sanjiv Goenka Group, Cornerstone and Star Sports - saw India's limited-overs deputy Rohit Sharma, pace sensation Jasprit Bumrah and woman cricketer Poonam Yadav scoop the top honours.
West Indies all-rounder Andre Russell was handed the award for best performance in the Indian Premier League.
The debuting annual event recognised the very best of Indian professional cricketers in a ceremony to reward, reflect and rejoice the heroes of the game across nine categories including Emerging Cricketer of the Year Male & Female, Best Performance in India's premier T20 tournament 2019, Cricketer of the Year, and a special Heroes Tribute.
1983 ICC World Cup-winning captain Kapil Dev and Sanjiv Goenka were the co-chairs of the awards jury who attended the event along with the jury members: Ex-India women's captain Anjum Chopra, commentator Ayaz Memon, India off-spinner Harbhajan Singh and former India batsman Mohammad Kaif. Jury advisor and sports statistician Mohandas Menon was also in attendance.
This year's event crowned the greatest performers in Indian cricket in the last 12 months across nine categories, with a special Heroes Tribute:
Emerging Cricketer of the Year Female - Radha Yadav
Emerging Cricketer of the Year Male - Mayank Agarwal
Bowler of the Year Female - Poonam Yadav
Bowler of the Year Male - Jasprit Bumrah
Batter of the Year Female - Smriti Mandhana
Batter of the Year Male - Rohit Sharma
Best Performance in India's premier T20 tournament 2019 - Andre Russell
Best Performance versus India 2019 - Sam Curran
Cricketer of the Year - Jasprit Bumrah
Heroes Tribute 2019 - Yuvraj Singh.

Disclaimer: No Business Standard Journalist was involved in creation of this content

Don't miss the most important news and views of the day. Get them on our Telegram channel

First Published: May 29 2019 | 11:54 PM IST

Explore News