Business Standard

New rail division for Andhra, named South Coast Railway: Goyal


IANS New Delhi
Railway Minister Piyush Goyal on Wednesday announced a new railway division for Andhra Pradesh named South Coast Railway with its headquarters at Vishakapatnam.
Addressing a press conference here, Goyal said: "As per item 8 of schedule 13 (Infrastructure) of the Andhra Pradesh Reorganisation Act, 2014, Indian Railways was required to examine establishing a new railway zone in the successor State of Andhra Pradesh.
"The matter was examined in detail in consultation with stake holders and it has been decided to go ahead with creation of new zone with headquarter at Visakhapatnam."
Goyal said the new zone has been named as South Coast Railway (SCoR) and it will comprise of existing Guntakal, Guntur and Vijaywada divisions.
The minister said that Waltair division will be split into two parts - one part to be incorporated in the new zone by merging with the neighbouring Vijaywada division, while the remaining portion will be converted into a new division with headquarter at Raygada under East Coast Railway (ECoR).
The minister said that South Central Railway will comprise of Hyderabad, Secunderabad and Nanded divisions.

Disclaimer: No Business Standard Journalist was involved in creation of this content

Don't miss the most important news and views of the day. Get them on our Telegram channel

First Published: Feb 27 2019 | 8:06 PM IST

Explore News