You are here: Home » News-IANS » Politics
Business Standard

Raj Babbar, Shinde in Congress's second LS list

IANS  |  New Delhi 

The on Wednesday released its second list of candidates, fielding its from and former Union Ministers Sushil Kumar Shinde from Maharashtra's and from

The second list of 21 candidates, five from and 16 from Uttar Pradesh, includes two who joined it after quitting the - from and from Uttar Pradesh's Bahraich.

Patole, who had joined in 2018, heads the All India Kisan Road Transport is the sitting from and Patole will face him if he recontests from there.

Patole was elected to the on a BJP ticket from Bhandara-Gondiya in 2014, defeating heavyweight Praful Patel.

Former Samajwadi Party has been made Congress candidate from Uttar Pradesh's Fatehpur.

In Maharashtra, the party has fielded late and former Union Sunil Dutt's daughter from Mumbai North Central and Milind Deora from Mumbai South.

Nandev Dalluji Usendi is the party nominee from Gadchiroli-Chimur.

In Uttar Pradesh, the party has fielded from Sultanpur, Ratna Singh from Pratapgarh, Omwati from Nagina, from Kheri, Kaisar Jahan from Sitapur, Manjari Rahi from Misrikh, Ramashankar Bhargava from Mohanlalganj, Parvez Khan from Sant Kabir Nagar, Kush Saurabh from Bansgaon, from Lalganj, Lalitesh Pati Tripathi from Mirzapur and Bhagwati from Robertsganj.

The party's first list of candidates had 15 names - 11 from and four from

Like the first list, the second list also includes some young well-known faces who have contested elections earlier as also from the old

The party has taken lead over the ruling BJP which is yet to declare its first list of candidates.

The Congress, which is not part of Samajwadi Party-Bahujan Samaj Party-Rashtriya Lok Dal alliance in Uttar Pradesh, is fighting the elections on its own on all the 80 parliamentary seats though it has not ruled out possibility of alliance with smaller parties.

It has so far declared 27 candidates in the state.



(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Wed, March 13 2019. 23:50 IST