You are here: Home » News-IANS » Politics
Business Standard

Six Sri Lankan ministers quit unity government

IANS  |  Colombo 

Six Sri Lankan ministers resigned on Thursday, saying they were unable to continue work in the country's unity government.

The ministers were from the Freedom Party (SLFP) which is led by Maithripala Sirisena, reports

The six ministers are: Dayasiri Jayasekara, of Social Empowerment and Welfare S.B Dissanayake, Anura Priyadarshana Yapa, Minister John Seneviratne, Science, Technology and and and Vocational Training Chandima Weerakkody.

The SLFP is a coalition partner in the unity government along with the ruling which is led by

Ten other state and belonging to the SLFP had also vacated their positions on Wednesday.

Sirisena has accepted the resignations of all the 16 legislators.

An from the president's office told Xinhua that although the 16 legislators would no longer be in the government, they would continue to support Sirisena.



(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Thu, April 12 2018. 09:40 IST