You are here: Home » Politics » News » National
Business Standard

BJP nominates Suresh Prabhu to Rajya Sabha from Haryana

BJP's absolute majority in Haryana Assembly polls will see Prabhu and Birender Singh nominated unopposed

BS Reporter  |  New Delhi 

Suresh Prabhu
Suresh Prabhu

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) will nominate union ministers and as its candidates for elections to two seats from Haryana. Singh and Prabhu were inducted in the Narendra Modi-led cabinet in the cabinet expansion earlier this month. With getting absolute majority in in recent elections, it is assured of getting both the seats unopposed, helping further raise the party's strength in the Upper House where it does not enjoy a majority. at present has 43 seats in

was earlier a member of from Haryana but quit his seat to join ahead of assembly elections in Haryana. "The Central Election Committee has decided to nominate the names of Chaudhary and Suresh Prabhakar Prabhu for the bye­election to the Council of States (Rajya Sabha) of Haryana," Secretary of BJP's Central Election Committee and general secretary J P Nadda said.

The seats had fallen vacant after Birender Singh resigned from his seat on August 28 and Ranbir Singh Parjapati of Indian Lok Dal (INLD) quit on November 1. The terms of the two Ministers will be till August 1, 2016.

The Election Commission has already notified the bye-election to the Council of States from Haryana. As per the schedule, the last date for filing of nominations is November 25 and polling, if required, will be held on December 5 and the results declared on the same day.

First Published: Sat, November 22 2014. 20:28 IST