You are here: Home » Politics » News » South
Opposition parties in Uttar Pradesh attack govt over fuel price hike
Kejriwal congratulates Gujarat voters after AAP registers impressive gains
Business Standard

President accepts resignations of Puducherry CM, council of ministers

Ram Nath Kovind has accepted the resignation of Puducherry Chief Minister V Narayanasamy and his council of Ministers

Ram Nath Kovind | Puducherry | V Narayanasamy

Press Trust of India  |  Puducherry 

Puducherry Chief Minister V Narayanasamy
V Narayanasamy

President has

accepted the resignation of Chief Minister and his council of Ministers, a day after they quit in the wake of losing the trust vote in the assembly.

A notification of the Union Home Ministry issued on Tuesday said: "The President has been pleased to accept resignation of V.Narayanasamy Chief Minister of along with his council of Ministers with effect from February 22."

A copy of the notification was made available to the media here by the Raj Nivas, the office of Lt Governor.

Chief Secretary Ashwani Kumar said the notification has been republished in the Gazette of Puducherry government.

Narayanasamy, who led the Congress government, resigned on Monday ahead of the confidence vote after his ministry was reduced to a minority following a spate of resignations of his party MLAs and a DMK legislator in recent days.

He called on Lt Governor Tamilisai Soundararajan, who had earlier directed a floor test to prove his majority, and submitted the resignation of his four-member cabinet.

(Only the headline and picture of this report may have been reworked by the Business Standard staff; the rest of the content is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

Subscribe to Business Standard Premium

Exclusive Stories, Curated Newsletters, 26 years of Archives, E-paper, and more!

Insightful news, sharp views, newsletters, e-paper, and more! Unlock incisive commentary only on Business Standard.

Download the Business Standard App for latest Business News and Market News .

First Published: Tue, February 23 2021. 19:48 IST