You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

11.40 pc polling till 9 am in eight LS seats of western UP

Press Trust of India  |  Lucknow 

The eight constituencies of western Uttar Pradesh, where polling is being held in the first of the seven-phase general elections, registered 11.40 per cent till 9 am, an said.

The electoral fate of three Union ministers -- V K Singh (Ghaziabad), (Baghpat) and (Gautam Buddha Nagar) -- will be determined in this phase.

The BJP is making all-out effort to retain all the eight seats while the Samajwadi Party-Bahujan Samaj Party-Rashtriya Lok Dal alliance too is going whole hog to upset the saffron party's applecart.

In the first phase, 1,50,65,682 voters, including 68,39,833 females and 1,014 third genders, will decide the fate of 96 candidates.

In the 2014 parliamentary elections, the BJP had won all the eight seats--- Saharanpur, Kairana, Muzaffarnagar, Bijnor, Meerut, Baghpat, Ghaziabad and -- that figure in the first phase of this election.

While the Muzaffarnagar seat will see a clash of titans with locking horns with sitting BJP lawmaker Sanjeev Balyan, the Kairana parliamentary constituency holds immense significance for the saffron party as it had tasted defeat in the bye-election last year.

Prominent among those in the fray include -- (Congress) and Raghav Lakhanpal (BJP) from Saharanpur, and (SP) from Kairana.

In Bijnor, candidate and former UP (during Mayawati's tenure) Naseemuddin Siddiqui will challenge Raja Bharatendra Singh, while in Meerut, BJP's will hope for a repeat of 2014, while BSP's Hazi will be trying to checkmate him.

In Baghpat, is pitted against Jayant Chaudhary (RLD), son of

of the is contesting against V K Singh in Ghaziabad, while in Gautam Buddh Nagar, it is candidate versus of the

Elaborate arrangements have been made for this phase and over one lakh security personnel have been deployed to ensure free and fair polls, (Law and Order) of Police said.

The politically crucial state of sends 80 MPs to the Of these, the is contesting on 37 seats, BSP on 38, and the RLD on three seats.

will see seven-phase polling.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Thu, April 11 2019. 11:15 IST