You are here: Home » Politics » News » National
Business Standard

4 TDP Rajya Sabha members join BJP, boost NDA's strength in upper house

Three of the four MPs met BJP's working president J P Nadda at the party headquarters and joined the BJP

Press Trust of India  |  New Delhi 

Y S Chowdary
Y S Chowdary joins BJP in presence of J P Nadda and Thawarchand Gehlot

Four of the six Telugu Desam Party members of Thursday joined the and sought merger of the Legislature Party with the saffron party.

Y S Chowdary, C M Ramesh, Garikapati Mohan Rao and T G Venkatesh met Chairman M Venkaiah Naidu and handed him a letter of a resolution passed by the legislature party urging its merger.

BJP's working president J P Nadda and leader of the in Thawarchand Gehlot also met Naidu and submitted a proposal from president Amit Shah saying the party has no objection to the merger of the Legislature party with the BJP.

Three of the four MPs later met Nadda and Gehlot at the party headquarters and joined the BJP.

"I assure them that the BJP believes in of positivity and inclusiveness," Nadda told a press conference in the presence of MPs.

Their decision to back the BJP will give a boost to the saffron party in the upper house as the ruling Democratic Alliance does not have a majority there yet.

The TDP, which is led by former Andhra Pradesh chief minister N Chandrababu Naidu, also has three MPs in the Lok Sabha.

The Rajya Sabha has a strength of 245 members and the BJP is the single largest party with 71 MPs.

First Published: Thu, June 20 2019. 18:45 IST