You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

AFI names team for Asian Indoors & Asian Games test events

Press Trust of India  |  New Delhi 

The selection committee of Athletics Federation of (AFI) has announced a 13-member team for the 8th Asian Indoor Athletics Championships to be held in Tehran, from February 1 to 3.

Under the chairmanship of former Olympian G S Randhawa, the committee also selected a 36-member contingent to represent at the test event competition to be held from February 11 to 14 in Jakarta,

will host the 18th later this year from August 18 to September 2.

After the meeting at AFI headquarter here on Wednesday, CK Valson, AFI said, "The athletes were selected on the basis of their performances in the International and National Championships including National Junior Championships held in 2017 and confirming their present fitness levels.

"The team is short as we have excluded certain events due to inexperience of our athletes on a 200m track."

Meanwhile, Indian cross country athletes will participate in the 14th Asian Cross Country Championships to be held at Guiyang, on March 15.

The team will be selected based on performance at the 52nd National Cross Country Championships to be held on Sunday in

Team for 8th Asian Indoor Athletics Championships (Tehran, Iran):

Men: & Elakkya Dasan (60m), Samsheer SE & (long jump), & (triple jump), Tajinder Singh Toor& Om Prakash Singh (shot put);

Women: Dutee Chand (60m), Sanjeevini Jadhav (3000m), & Neena Varakil (long jump), (triple jump).

Team for test event competition (Jakarta, Indonesia):

Men: Muhammed Sadath, Elakkaya Dasan, Vidya Sagar, Anuroop John, Satnaam Singh, CH Sudhakar (4x100m relay), Kunhu Muhammed, Jithu Baby, Jeevan KS, (4x400m relay), Santosh Kumar T, (400m, 4x400m relay), Jinson Johnson (800m), (1500m), G Lakshmanan (5000m), Davinder Singh Kang & Sahil Silwal (Javelin Throw), Tajinder Singh Toor & Om Prakash Singh (shot put, subject to the performance at Asian Indoors), Samsheer SE & (long jump), & (triple jump).

Women: Jisna Mathew & (400m & 4x400m relay), Debashree Majumdar, Sarita Gaikwad, Nitya Shree (4x400m relay), Hima Das (200m, 4x400m relay), Chitra PU (1500m), Suriya L & Sanjivani Jadhav (5000m), (hammer throw), & Neena Varakil (long jump), (triple jump).

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Fri, January 12 2018. 10:30 IST