You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

BJP names fresh face for Mandya constituency

Press Trust of India  |  Bengaluru 

BJP Thursday named a fresh face, a retired Commercial from the community, as its candidate for the November 3 Lok Sabha bypolls in constituency.

The party is expected to pick its candidate forthe assembly seat in a couple of days.

"Dr Siddaramaiah, Retired Additional Commissioner, Commercial has joined the BJP. He will be our candidate from constituency," state BJP B S told reporters in Shivamogga.

He said hails from the communityand his family has a political background, as his father BDoddabore Gowda had got elected to the assembly from Srirangapatnaand constituencies.

Interestingly, the announcement of Siddaramaiah's nameas the BJP candidate from Mandya constituency camesoon after he joined the party in Bengaluru Thursday.

BJP expects Siddaramaiah's background to help its prospects in Mandya, the region dominated by the community, where its position is relatively weak.

Stating that the party's candidates would be in the fray from all five constituencies going for the bypolls, said there were two or three names for and the candidate would be finalised tomorrow or the day after.

"Our mission is to win all the five seats in the bypolls," he added.

The state BJP had on Tuesday finalised thenames for two out of three parliamentary and one out of twoassembly constituencies that will go for the bypolls on November 3.

It had recommended the names of B Y Raghavendra,son of and Shanta, sister of senior party leader B Sriramulu for Shivamogga and Ballari and former MLA Shrikant Kulkarni for Jamkhandi assembly segment, to the party's centralelection committee.

Bypolls for three constituencies- Shivamogga, Ballari and Mandya and two assembly constituencies- and Jamkhandi, will take place on November 3.

The counting of votes will be on November 6.

On the other hand, the ruling coalition that has decided to put up a united fight against BJP in the by elections is yet to finalise the names of candidates.

Hectic parleys are on within both parties tofinalise the candidates for the seats they would be contestingfrom, in accordance with the arrangement reached.

would fight in Ballari and Shivamogga Lok Sabha constituencies and JDS in Mandya, its traditional stronghold in the Vokkaliga belt in the old Mysuru region.

For the assembly by-polls, the will contest from Jamakhandi and JDS from Ramanagara, which Minister H D Kumaraswamy had won, but gave up after retaining Channapatna, the other segment bagged by him in the assembly elections.

By-elections have been necessitated after BJP's B S Yeddyurappa (Shivamogga) and B Sriramalu (Ballari), and C S Puttaraju of JD(S) (Mandya) resigned as MPs after they got elected to the assembly in May this year.

By-polls to Jamkhandi assembly seat was caused by the death of MLA Siddu Nyamagouda, while Ramanagara fell vacant after Kumaraswamy gave up the seat, preferring Chennapatna.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Thu, October 11 2018. 18:45 IST