You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

BJP's first list in Bengal pins hope on hardcore politicians,

Press Trust of India  |  Kolkata 

The in its first list of 28 candidates for has pinned hopes on its veterans and defectors from the ruling Trinamool to take on the in the state.

Of the 28 candidates, nearly 25 are new faces, with a thrust on active political workers rather than greenhorns from the glamour world.

The saffron party, which bagged two Lok Sabha seats in the 2014 elections, is now targeting 23 of the state's 42 constituencies.

Unlike the TMC list, which had 18 new faces and a mix of both old timers and greenhorns, hardcore politicians and personalities from the film industry, the has put faith on its own leaders and defectors from other parties.

There are four women candidates and one Muslim nominee in the first list.

Of the candidates, five had recently defected to the saffron party from the Trinamool and one from the CPI(M).

and MP from Asansol Lok Sabha constuency Babul Supriyo has been renominated from the same seat and is pitted against of the TMC.

State BJP will contest from Medinipur seat against

BJP will take on TMC heavyweight in Kolkata North Lok Sabha seat.

State BJP and Netaji Subhas Chandra Boses grandnephew, will contest from Kolkata South Lok Sabha seat.

Former IPS Bharati Ghosh, once known to be close to Mamata Banerjee, will be fighting against TMC candidate and Dipak Adhikary, popularly known as 'Dev', from Ghatal Lok Sabha constituency.

The BJP has fielded former Trinamool MLA from Barrackpur Lok Sabha seat. Singh, who had recently joined the saffron party, has been pitted against TMCs

In Coochbebar Lok Sabha seat, the party has fielded former TMC youth leader Nishith Pramanik, while in Jadavpur Lok Sabha seat, expelled TMC MP will contest against TMC's Mimi Chakraborty, an by profession.

Another former TMC MP Soumitra Khan, who joined the BJP in January, has been given ticket from Bishnupur(SC) Lok Sabha seat.

Former CPI(M) MLA Khagen Murmu, who too had switched over to the BJP, will contest from Malda North seat and will take on TMCs Mausam Benazir Noor, who had recently defected to the party from the Congress, in Malda Uttar seat.

The Lok Sabha elections in the state will be held from April 11 till May 19 in seven phases.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Fri, March 22 2019. 14:00 IST