You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Chinnaswamy blasts case: 3 sentenced to 7 years in jail

Press Trust of India  |  Bengaluru 

A today sentenced three of the 14 accused in the 2010 Chinnaswamy Stadium bomb blast case to seven years in jail.

The NIA designated sentenced them to seven years of simple imprisonment and one year of rigorous imprisonment, which would run concurrently.

On July 4, the court had reserved its order after the accused pleaded guilty.

The three - Gowhar Aziz Khomani, and - had filed the affidavit in the court that day, pleading guilty after it rejected their plea bargain.

They had sought leniency and lesser punishment.

The accused had been in jail for six years during the trial.

The for the accused, Balan, said: "They pleaded guilty after facing tremendous pressure as they had already spent six years and two months in jail."

In all, there were 14 accused in the case. Seven are in jail. A few other accused are at large.

Five Improvised Explosive Devices were planted at the entrance of the stadium. Of them, two exploded injuring 15 people, including five security personnel, ahead of an IPL match between Mumbai Indians and in April 2010.

The other three IEDs were defused by a bomb disposal squad.

Indian is the prime accused in the case and is presently lodged in

Another accused, Mohammad Qateel Siddiqui, died after he was lynched by Yerawada jail inmates in Pune.

C A Ravindra said the accused were from and visited to hatch the plan to explode bombs at the stadium.

However, they were not involved in preparing or planting the bombs, he said.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Mon, July 09 2018. 23:50 IST