You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Indians elected to governing council of APNIC after a decade

Press Trust of India  |  New Delhi 

After a decade, two Indians have been appointed to the governing council of global IP address managing body for 56 Asian countries.

ISPAI President Rajesh Chharia and ISPAI Executive Council member Roopinder Singh Perhar from India have won the Executive Council (EC) election of Asia Pacific Network Information Center (APNIC), in New Zealand today.

"We want to create the right atmosphere for 'Connecting the Unconnected'. At India too, under leadership of Prime Minister Narendra Modi we are running Digital India program to empower people by connecting them to Internet.

I would look forward to playing a further role in strengthening the position at proposing and formulating policies as per the needs of the community," Chharia told PTI over phone from New Zealand.

He has won with the highest number of votes (1533 votes) and elected to the position of Secretary APNIC in the seven member Governing Council. At this position, Chharia will handle administrative function of APNIC.

In 2005, Kusumba Sridhar was elected member at APNIC governing council.

"This has been a historic win for India and I am delighted that for the first time India has been able to garner this kind of participation in decision making at APNIC," Ajay Kumar Additional Secretary at the Department of Electronics and Information Technology said.

Kumar said the scale and impact of Digital India makes India a very important player in the Internet community and India would be participating actively in fulfilling the global responsibility for the next generation of growth of Internet.

The council is headed by Nepal origin US resident Gaurab Upadhyay as Chairman.

Chharia is also serving as Director of National Internet Exchange of India and has played a key role in the launch of the .Bharat domain name extension and other regional language domain names as well setting up of the Indian Registry for Internet Names and Numbers (IRINN).

Dear Reader,

Business Standard has always strived hard to provide up-to-date information and commentary on developments that are of interest to you and have wider political and economic implications for the country and the world. Your encouragement and constant feedback on how to improve our offering have only made our resolve and commitment to these ideals stronger. Even during these difficult times arising out of Covid-19, we continue to remain committed to keeping you informed and updated with credible news, authoritative views and incisive commentary on topical issues of relevance.
We, however, have a request.

As we battle the economic impact of the pandemic, we need your support even more, so that we can continue to offer you more quality content. Our subscription model has seen an encouraging response from many of you, who have subscribed to our online content. More subscription to our online content can only help us achieve the goals of offering you even better and more relevant content. We believe in free, fair and credible journalism. Your support through more subscriptions can help us practise the journalism to which we are committed.

Support quality journalism and subscribe to Business Standard.

Digital Editor

First Published: Fri, February 26 2016. 19:57 IST