You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Jaitley files nomination; contest imminent with 14 nominees for 10 seats

Press Trust of India  |  Lucknow 

With 14 candidates, from Jaitley and other bigwigs to an independent, entering the fray for ten vacant seats from Uttar Pradesh, a to the became imminent today.

"As many as 11 BJP candidates and an independent filed their nomination papers today. This takes the total number of candidates in the fray to 14, with SP's and BSP's Bhimrao Ambedkar having already filed nominations earlier," returning told

The BJP candidates who filed their nominations today were: Jaitley, Ashok Bajpai, Vijay Pal Singh Tomar, Sakal Deep Rajbhar, Kanta Kardam, Anil Jain, Harnath Singh Yadav, GVL Narasimha Rao, Anil Kumar Agarwal, and

"An independent also filed his nomination papers," Saxena, special secretary, UP Assembly, said.

Today was the last day for filing of nominations for the biennial elections.

Voting will be held on March 23 and the last date for withdrawal of candidature is March 15.

told PTI, "The party has fielded 11 candidates for the ongoing elections from UP. Let's see what happens."

BJP Salil Bishnoi, when contacted said, "As per the orders of my party leadership, I have filed my nomination papers. Whatever the party instructs me to do in future, I will abide with it."

There was speculation that the BJP may ask some of its leaders to withdraw from the

In this contest, a candidate needs 37 first preference votes to emerge victorious. Arithmetically, the BJP can easily win eight out of the 10 seats. The party and its allies have 324 seats (BJP's Noorpur MLA died recently in a road accident) in the 403-member Assembly.

In the 245-member of Parliament, has 31 seats being the most populous state of the country.

Earlier in the day, Jaitley filed his nomination papers for the election from UP.

Minister was not present during Jaitley's nomination as he was in and for Narendra Modi's visit.

Jaitley filed his nomination papers at the of the Assembly complex in the presence of Mahendra Nath Pandey, ministers and Dinesh Sharma, UP cabinet ministers Shrikant Sharma and Anupama Jaiswal, and other leaders.

Speaking to reporters, UP Deputy said, "If you see our list of Rajya Sabha candidates, all the regions have got representation on the basis of merit. This is the speciality of the BJP.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Mon, March 12 2018. 20:25 IST