You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Maha: BJP wins 49 out of 115 seats in six municipal councils

Press Trust of India  |  Mumbai 

The ruling BJP today won the highest number of seats -- 49 out of 115 -- in elections to six municipal councils in

The results were declared by the State Election Commission today.

The BJP is in the position to gain the control of municipal councils at Devrukh and Ajra, and in it has made a clean sweep by winning all 24 seats.

Girish Mahajan's wife won the election for of the The local body will have no opposition member.

Elections were held in Guhagar, Devrukh, Kankavli, Ajra, Jamner and Vaijapur municipal councils.

In Devrukh, the BJP won seven out of 17 seats. It also captured the chairperson's post.

The saffron party had joined hands with Tararani Aghadi Paksh in Ajra municipal council elections, and won nine seats. It also won election to chairperson's post.

NCP won two seats, two, and independent candidates won two seats. The got one seat.

In Vaijapur, won 13 out of 23 seats, followed by the BJP which bagged nine. But the BJP also won the seat of the The remaining one seat went to the

A front of nine independents, informally known as 'Kunbi Sena', won nine seats in Guhagar. The BJP won six seats, NCP and bagged won one seat each. The seat of was won by an independent, said the SEC.

In Kankavli, Narayan Rane-led Swabhiman Paksh won 10 out of 17 seats. BJP and Shiv Sena won three seats each; NCP bagged one.

Commenting on the results, Raosaheb Danve said, "Out of six municipal councils, BJP has won the post of in three places, while a BJP-supported candidate won the seat in one place. It underscores the people's faith in the party.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Thu, April 12 2018. 22:35 IST