You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Maharashtra: 4 legislators resign; talk of their joining BJP

Press Trust of India  |  Mumbai 

Four opposition legislators resigned from Maharashtra Assembly on Tuesday, amid talks of their switching allegiance to the ruling BJP.

Congress MLA Kalidas Kolambkar and NCP's Shivendrasinh Bhosale, Vaibhav Pichad and Sandip Naik handed over their resignation letters separately to Speaker Haribhau Bagade at the state legislature building Vidhan Bhawan in south Mumbai.

Kolambkar is a seven-term lawmaker from Mumbai, while Shivendrasinh Bhosle won the Satara seat in 2014 by 47,813 votes.

The four are likely to join the BJP on Wednesday, sources said.

These would be the latest inductions in the BJP ahead of Maharashtra Assembly polls due in just over two months.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Tue, July 30 2019. 13:30 IST