You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

NPP announces names of 24 candidates for assembly election

Press Trust of India  |  Shillong 

The National People's Party (NPP) has announced the name of 24 party candidates including that of former Union Minister Agatha K Sangma for next year's Assembly

The names of the 24 NPP candidates were announced by NPP president WR Kharlukhi who headed the state committee yesterday.

Agatha, the youngest daughter of former P A Sangma will contest the from South Tura assembly constituency in West Garo Hills district. Agatha is a former MP from Tura and also a former Minister of State for Rural Development in the II

Agathas eldest brother James K Sangma, the NPP spokesperson and Nihim D Shira both MLAs have been renominated from the Dadenggre and Songsak constituencies respectively.

The names of other candidates announced were that of former Deputy Chief Minister Timothy D Shira, former Deputy Speaker H S Shylla, two former ministers F W Momin and Manirul Islam Sarkar and former Marcuise N Marak.

The other candidates include W Shylla, former chief executive member of the Khasi Hills Autonomous District Council C B Syiem. Syiem will contest from Nongpoh.

Assembly elections in are due in March next year.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Fri, November 10 2017. 13:48 IST