You are here: Home » Elections » News
Business Standard

Odisha assembly poll victory: Naveen Patnaik to form govt for fifth time

Patnaik fought from Hinji and Bijepur constituency and in both of them he is defeating BJP candidates with huge margins.

Press Trust of India  |  Bhubaneswar 

naveen patnaik
Odisha CM Naveen Patnaik

and (BJD) on Friday retained his home turf Hinjli for a fifth consecutive term, trouncing nearest rival and nominee Pitambar Acharya from the assembly seat by 60,160 votes, according to EC sources.

The BJD supremo, who is steering his party to another emphatic victory in the state, has also established a lead of 56,000 votes in Bijepur constituency in west against Sanat Kumar Gartia of the saffron party.

The ruling BJD is all set to form government for a fifth time in a row, with its candidates winning 89 seats and leading in 23 others out of the 146 assembly segments, the EC sources said.

This is for the first time Patnaik contested the assembly election from two seats.

The has been representing Hinjili in district since 2000, when he decided to confine himself to state politics having served as a in the Atal Bihari Vajpayee-led government.

In 2014 assembly elections, the had bagged Hinjili, defeating his rival of the by a margin of 76,586 votes. Patnaik had secured 73.14 per cent of the total votes polled.

First Published: Fri, May 24 2019. 09:20 IST