You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Rio govt sails through trust vote in Assembly

Press Trust of India  |  Kohima 

The Neiphiu Rio-led government in won the floor test in the Assembly today.

The legislators, who met for the first time since the formation of the new government, elected Vikho-O Yhoshu of the NDPP as the new

In the 60-member Assembly, 33 votes were cast in favour of the confidence motion and 26 against it. Barring the speaker, all 59 legislators signed a register to cast their vote for the motion today.

Of the 33 MLAs that voted in favour of the Rio government, 17 were NDPP members, 12 were of the BJP, two of the NPP, one was a JD(U) MLA and another was an

Yhoshu had served as an MLA for three terms in the past. He represents the southern Angami-I constituency.

Polling to 59 seats was held in on February 27. Rio, who had won unopposed from the Assembly constituency on February 12, staked claim to form government with the support of 34 legislators on March 4, a day after the results were announced.

The chief minister, along with 10 other ministers, were administered the oath of office by P B Acharya on March 8.

Acharya had asked the newly-elected to prove his majority on the floor of the House by March 16.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Tue, March 13 2018. 16:30 IST