You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar award 2015 announced

Press Trust of India  |  New Delhi 

The government today announced the recipients of prestigious Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar award, considered to be a coveted science honour in the country.

The Ministry of Science and Technology announced 11 awards in seven different fields.

In Biological Science category, Balasubramanian Gopal of the Indian Institute of Science (IISc), and Rajeev Kumar Varshney of International Crops Research Institute for the Semi-Arid Tropics (ICRISAT) were chosen for the coveted award.

Jyotiranjan Srichandan Ray from the Physical Science Laboratory, was chosen from the field of Earth, Atmosphere, Ocean and Planetary Sciences while Yogesh Joshi from was selected for the awards in the field of Engineering Sciences.

In the field of Mathematical Sciences, Ritabrata Munshi from the Tata Institute of Fundamental Research (TIFR), and K Sandeep from TIFR Centre for Applicable Mathematics, bagged the award.

Vidita Vaidya from the TIFR bagged the award from the medical science category.

In the Physical Sciences category, Bedangadas Mohanty from the National Institute of Science Education and Research, Bhubaneshwar and Mandar Deshmukh from the TIFR were selected.

D Srinivasa Reddy from CSIR's National Chemical Laboratory, Pune and Pradyut Ghosh form the Indian Association for the Cultivation of Science, Jadavpur were selected for the award in the category of Chemical Sciences.

Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Award is named after the founder Director of the Council of Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR), the late Sir Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar.

The prize is given each year for outstanding contributions to science and technology. It is also a recognition of outstanding Indian work in science and technology.

Any India citizen, overseas citizen of India (OCI) and persons of Indian origin (PIO) working in India engaged in research in any field of science and technology up to the age of 45 years as reckoned are eligible for the award.

First Published: Sat, September 26 2015. 20:28 IST