You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Sreejesh named in Indian team for tourney in New Zealand

Press Trust of India  |  New Delhi 

PR Sreejesh may feature in his first competitive event in eight months after being named in India's 20-member squad for a four-nation tournament in

will compete with Belgium, and hosts New Zealand at Tauranga and Hamilton in the tournament, beginning January 17.

The team will be led by 25-year-old midfielder Manpreet Singh while Chinglensana Singh Kangujam will be his deputy.

Sreejesh, who missed some key tournaments in 2017 due to a knee injury, will be joined by young Krishan Bahadur Pathak, a member of the 2016 Junior winning team. Pathak was also part of the A team which participated at the in September.

New inclusions in the team are forward and midfielder Prasad. The duo was rewarded for their promising performance at the Sultan of Johor Cup last year where the team returned home with the bronze medal.

While Vivek had played an instrumental role in the midfield, Dilpreet was Indias goal-getter with nine goals in six matches to his credit.

Indias defence features Rupinder Pal Singh, Harmanpreet Singh, Varun Kumar all three will double-up as dragflickers. They will be joined by Birendra Lakra, Surender Kumar and Gurinder Singh in the defense-line.

The midfield has Manpreet Singh, Chinglensana Singh, Harjeet Singh, Nilakanta Sharma, Satbir Singh along with debut players and Prasad.

Indias attack will be led by along with young gun Armaan Qureshi, Dilpreet Singh, and

"The team continues to remain a good mix of young and experienced players. They will get to show their abilities against top quality teams. This is an important year for us with major tournaments in the pipeline and one of our focus areas is to perform consistently especially against higher ranked teams, said

"We use this tour for our preparation for the Commonwealth Games and look at progressing to the next level after the previous two tournaments, he added.


Goalkeepers: PR Sreejesh, Krishan

Defenders : Harmanpreet Singh, Surender Kumar, Gurinder Singh, Varun Kumar, Rupinderpal Singh, Birendra Lakra.

Midfielders: (C), Chinglensana Singh Kangujam (VC), Prasad, Harjeet Singh, Nilakanta Sharma, and Satbir Singh


: Dilpreet Singh, Ramandeep Singh, Mandeep Singh, Lalit Kumar Upadhyay and

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Mon, January 08 2018. 12:35 IST