You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Three get five-year RI for robbery

Press Trust of India  |  Nashik 

A special sentenced three persons to rigorous imprisonment of five years for robbing two persons off Rs 12,000 in Ahmednagar district in 2015.

Judge S R Sharma yesterday convicted Narayan Waikar (35), Rahul Shingade (25) and Sunil Thorat (22) under various sections of the Control of Organised Crimes Act for the robbery, Public Prosecutor Sudhir Kotwal said.

The also imposed a fine of Rs 10 lakh on the trio.

On May 28, 2015, Waikar, Shingade and Thorat intercepted a temp on Ranjangaon--Vesgaon road in Ahmednagar district and snatched worth Rs 12,000 from two of its occupants after beating them, according to prosecution.

The trio were subsequently arrested by the Police.

The then IG of Nashik range ordered slapping of against the three who had a number of cases pending against them at various police stations in the district.

The examined the total of 20 witnesses during the trial, the public prosecutor said.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Wed, November 15 2017. 17:42 IST