You are here: Home » Sports » IPL 2020 » News

IPL 2020, RCB vs KKR highlights: Bangalore beats Kolkata by 8 wickets

Siraj virtually killed the contest, running through the KKR top order in a stunning display of swing bowling

IPL 2020 | Royal Challengers Bangalore | Kolkata Knight Riders

BS Web Team  | New Delhi 


In match 39 of the Indian Premier league 2020 (IPL 2020), pacer Mohammed Siraj's fiery opening spell, accentuated by two rare wicket-maiden overs, set up Royal Challengers Bangalore's dominant eight-wicket victory over at Sheikh Zayed Stadium on Wednesday.

Who holds orange and purple caps in 2020 IPL? Check here

Siraj virtually killed the contest, running through the KKR top order in a stunning display of swing bowling.

He ended with enviable figures of 4-2-8-3 and in the process emerged as the first bowler in the history of IPL to bowl two wicket- maiden overs.

After Siraj's furious display, leg-spinner Yuzvendra Chahal (2/15) stymied KKR's revival hopes as RCB restricted them to their second lowest total of 84 for eight.

In reply, RCB completed the formalities in 13.3 overs, securing their seventh win from 10 matches and moved up a place to second in the table with 14 points.

RCB vs KKR scorecard: RCB innings

Batsman Dismissal Runs Balls Fours Sixes
Devdutt Padikkal run out (Cummins) 25 17 3 0
Aaron Finch c Karthik b Ferguson 16 21 2 0
Gurkeerat Mann not out 21 26 4 0
Virat Kohli not out 18 17 2 0
Total: 85-2 in 13.3 Overs
Bowler Over Maiden Runs Wickets
Pat Cummins 3 0 18 0
Prasidh Krishna 2.3 0 20 0
Varun Chakravarthy 3 0 1 0
Lockie Ferguson 4 0 17 1


RCB lost their opener (16) after the Powerplay overs with Lockie Ferguson striking in his first over.

Devdutt Padikkal (25) was run out as RCB lost two wickets in the same over.

But skipper (18 not out) and Gurkeerat Singh (21 not out) ensured that there were no more hiccups. They sealed the win with 39 balls to spare.

RCB had secured a massive 82-run over KKR win in the first match between the two sides.

Check 2020 IPL points table and team standings here  

KKR inning's key highlights

Powerplay 1: Overs 0.1 - 6.0 (Mandatory - 17 runs, 4 wickets)
Over 4.2: Review by (Bowling), Umpire - S Ravi, Batsman - Karthik (Struck down - Umpires Call)
Strategic Timeout:  - 32/5 in 8.4 overs (Morgan 13)
Over 8.4: Review by (Bowling), Umpire - S Ravi, Batsman - Karthik (Upheld)
Over 8.5: Review by (Batting), Umpire - Ravi, Batsman - Cummins (Upheld)
Over 11.2: Review by (Bowling), Umpire - Sharma, Batsman - Cummins (Struck down - Umpires Call)
Kolkata Knight Riders: 50 runs in 14.6 overs (90 balls), Extras 3
Strategic Timeout: Kolkata Knight Riders - 52/6 in 15.0 overs (Morgan 26, Kuldeep Yadav 3)
Over 18.5: Review by Royal Challengers Bangalore (Bowling), Umpire - S Ravi, Batsman - Ferguson (Struck down)
Innings Break: Kolkata Knight Riders - 84/8 in 20.0 overs (Ferguson 19)

RCB vs KKR scorecard: KKR innings

Batsman Dismissal Runs Balls Fours Sixes
Shubman Gill c Morris b Saini 1 6 0 0
Rahul Tripathi c de Villiers b Siraj 1 5 0 0
Nitish Rana B Siraj 0 1 0 0
Tom Banton c de Villiers b Siraj 10 8 1 1
Dinesh Karthik lbw b Chahal 4 14 0 0
Eoin Morgan c Gurkeerat b Sundar 30 34 3 1
Pat Cummins c Padikkal b Chahal 4 17 0 0
Kuldeep Yadav run out (Gurkeerat /Morris) 12 19 1 0
Lockie Ferguson not out 19 16 1 0
Total: 84-8 in 20 Overs
Bowler Over Maiden Runs Wickets
Chris Morris 4 1 15 0
Mohammad Siraj 4 2 8 3
Navdeep Saini 3 0 23 1
Isuru Udana 1 0 6 0
Yuzvendra Chahal 4 0 15 2
Washington Sundar 4 1 14 1

It was a forgettable day for KKR who capped a slew of dubious records that included registering the lowest score in a 20-over IPL innings without a team getting bowled out.

It was for the first time a team played four maiden overs in a T20 innings. They also scored their lowest Powerplay score of 17/4.

It was KKR's second-lowest total after their 67 all-out against Mumbai Indians in 2008.

Playing without Windies star players Sunil Narine and Andre Russell, KKR struggled to get going after electing to bat and it was all over for them after skipper Eoin Morgan was dismissed by Washington Sundar for 30.

It was a masterstroke from skipper to include Siraj in place of spinner Shahbaz Nadeem keeping in mind a fresh strip.

Siraj began with a double wicket maiden over in which he dismissed opener Rahul Tripahi (1) and Nitish Rana (0) off successive deliveries.

He followed it up with another wicket-maiden over, getting rid of Tom Banton (10) in the process. His figures read an astonishing 2-1-0-3 at that time.

Tripathi nicked one straight back to AB de Villiers behind the stumps and in the next ball Siraj ran through the gates of Rana for a golden duck.

In his next over, he accounted for hard-hitting English batsman Tom Banton (10) with a scrambled seam delivery to cap the best ever opening two overs in the IPL.

In between, Navdeep Saini (1/23 from thee overs) dismissed the in-form opener Shubman Gill (1) after the young opener mis-timed a pull to be caught by Chris Morris as KKR looked in shambles with 14/4 inside four overs.

KKR had their most-experienced batsmen in Morgan and Karthik in the middle. But Chahal exposed latter's woes against leg-spin bowling as he trapped him leg before following a successful review. 

IPL 2020: RCB vs KKR full scorecard

RCB vs KKR playing 11

Kolkata Knight Riders has made two changes in its playing 11 bringing in Prasidh Krishan and Tom Banton while Royal Challengers has picked Mohammad Siraj over Shahbaz Ahmed. 

RCB playing 11: Devdutt Padikkal, Aaron Finch, Virat Kohli(c), AB de Villiers(w), Gurkeerat Singh Mann, Washington Sundar, Chris Morris, Isuru Udana, Mohammed Siraj, Navdeep Saini, Yuzvendra Chahal

KKR playing 11: Shubman Gill, Tom Banton, Nitish Rana, Eoin Morgan(c), Dinesh Karthik(w), Rahul Tripathi, Pat Cummins, Lockie Ferguson, Kuldeep Yadav, Prasidh Krishna, Varun Chakravarthy

Follow RCB vs KKR highlights here


Auto Refresh