Lok Sabha Elections 2019
You are here » Home » Elections » Lok Sabha Elections 2019 » Assam


Assam is one of the eight states in Northeast India with 14 Lok Sabha seats. In the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, the Bharatiya Janata Party had won 7 seats with a vote share of 36.9 per cent, and the Indian National Congress has bagged 3 seats with a 29.9 vote share, while other parties and independent candidates had won 4 seats with a combined vote share of 24.6 per cent. As at the time of the previous general elections, Assam had a total of 18,837,713 electors, of whom 80.12 per cent, or 15,092,387 exercised their right to franchise across 24,280 polling stations to choose their 14 Members of Parliament from among 162 candidates.
The state has 126 Assembly constituencies. In the previous state elections, held in 2016, the Bharatiya Janata Party emerged as the single largest party, winning 60 seats with a 29.8 per cent vote share. The Indian National Congress was the second-biggest party (26) despite the largest vote share of 31.3 per cent. The Asom Gana Parishad won 14 seats, the AIUDF 13 seats, and the BOPF 12 seats. One seat went to an independent candidate. At present, the chief minister of Assam is Sarbananda of the Bharatiya Janata Party.