Lok Sabha Elections 2019
You are here » Home » Elections » Lok Sabha Elections 2019 » Bihar


Bihar is a state in East India with 40 seats in the Lok Sabha. In the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, the Bharatiya Janata Party had emerged as the single largest party in the state, winning 22 seats with a vote share of 29.9 per cent. Lalu Prasad’s Rashtriya Janata Dal was the second-biggest in terms of votes polled, with a share 20.5 per cent, but it was third in terms of seat tally (4). Ram Vilas Paswan’s Lok Janshakti Party had won 6 seats, with a vote share of 6.5 per cent. The Indian National Congress had corned an 8.6 per cent vote share but won only two seats, while three seats went to the Rashtriya Lok Samta Party, which polled only 3.1 per cent votes.
As at the time of the previous general elections, Bihar had a total of 63,800,160 registered electors, of whom 56.26 per cent, or 35,892,459, exercised their right to franchise across 61,721 polling stations to choose their 40 Members of Parliament from among 607 candidates.
The state has 243 Assembly constituencies. In the previous state elections, held in 2015, the Rashtriya Janata Dal had emerged as the single largest party, winning 80 seats with an 18.8 per cent vote share. Nitish Kumar’s Janata Dal (United) was the second-biggest with 71 seats (17.3 per cent vote share). The Bharatiya Janata Party had won 53 seats (25 per cent vote share), and the Indian National Congress 27 seats (6.8 per cent vote share). Other parties and independent candidates together claimed 12 seats with a combined vote share of 32.1 per cent vote share. At present, the chief minister of Bihar is Nitish Kumar, whose JD(U) formed a government in the state in alliance with the BJP.